Beer Bread

This is an incredibly quick and easy recipe for homemade bread.  No yeast beyond what’s in the beer, no kneading, no rising, no hassle.  It takes approximately 10 minutes to put together and then another hour to bake.  That’s it.

As easy as it is, I managed to screw it up.  I do not like beer; unfortunately not liking beer means that I’ve never paid any attention to the details that go along with beer.  Details like IPAs are between 40 and 60 international bitterness units, which is a lot.  Naturally I used an IPA (The bottle was pretty!) and made some truly awful bread.  It turns out that I just don’t like hops (the things that make beer bitter) at all, and even if I did, they do not belong in bread.  (Now that I understand what it is that I don’t like about beer, perhaps I can find a beer that I like…or I could just stick to tequila.)

Allow me to help you to avoid my mistakes.  First, do not use an IPA.  Second, choose a beer that is under 25 IBUs.  Third, the fewer hops, the better.  (For bread at least.  Those of you who actually drink beer may enjoy hops, but they do not belong in bread.)

Do you have your beer?  You just wandered over to the refrigerator and pulled out a can of PBR, didn’t you?  Good choice.

Ingredients

  •  2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar (granulated sugar or brown sugar both work)
  • 12 oz. beer (see above)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.  Grease and flour a loaf pan.  (This is important if you want to get the bread out of the pan in one piece.)
  2. Thoroughly whisk together all dry ingredients.
  3. Create a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the beer.  Stir until just combined with a wooden spoon.  Do not over-mix.
  4. Scrape dough into the prepared pan.  Make an effort to smooth it out a bit.
  5. Bake for one hour.  It will have a firm crust and look…rustic.  It will also be tasty.

It goes very nicely with chili or butter.

4 thoughts on “Beer Bread

  1. Pingback: Corn Chowder | Yay, food!

  2. This turned out fantastically! What beer do YOU recommend? I just used PBR because it was in my fridge, but I intend on experimenting with some different kinds. I was thinking an oatmeal stout would be really good.

  3. I am going to make one with an oatmeal stout, then soon I am going to try making it with a berry wheat beer. I will let you know how they turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

